Skip Navigation
 
This table is used for column layout.
 
Town Resources
 
Quick Links
 
 
Deerfield NH on Facebook
Deerfield NH on Twitter
NH Alerts
 
Dog Licenses

WHICH DOGS MUST BE LICENSED?
All dogs, four months old or over, living in the State of New Hampshire, must be licensed by their owners in the town or city of residence and they must have proof of rabies vaccination.

WHAT DO I NEED TO LICENSE MY DOG?
State law requires that before a license is issued, the owner or keeper of a dog must furnish proof to the Clerk that the dog has been vaccinated against rabies. The rabies certificate should be in the name of the owner of the dog, or a letter of ownership from the previous owner should be provided as well.
In addition, the annual license fee is less for a dog that has been spayed or neutered. Evidence of the procedure needs to be supplied to the Clerk. Once this information is on file, it need not be provided for future license renewals.

New Hampshire town and city clerks are notified by local veterinarian offices when rabies vaccinations are administered, and this information may already be on file with the City Clerk. However, all records are not always current for a variety of reasons including: reporting time lag; notice mailed to an incorrect town or city clerk due to differences in the ownerís mailing address and residence; or vaccinations administered at off-site pet clinics or by out-of-state facilities. Feel free to contact the Clerkís office at (603) 463-8811 ext. 308 or 312 if you wish to determine whether or not this information is already on file for your pet.

WHAT ARE THE DOG LICENSE FEES?
  • Spayed Female:  $6.50
  • Neutered Male: $6.50
  • Unaltered Female: $9.00
  • Unaltered Male: $9.00
  • Senior Citizen: $2.00 (First dog only then regular rates apply)
  • Kennel/Group: $20.00 (5 or more dogs)
Late fees start accruing after April 30th of every year; please add an additional dollar for each month after that date.

CAN I LICENSE MY DOG BY MAIL?
You may license your dog by mail using the Dog License Form and enclosing a check for the appropriate fee.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON'T LICENSE MY DOG?
Failure to license a dog is a violation of state law and town ordinances.  In addition to the annual license fee you will be charged a late fee of $1.00 per month for each month late.

In addition, you are subject to a civil forfeiture fee of $25.00 due within 15 days after receiving notice of forfeiture. If the forfeiture is not paid, the case may be disposed of in Candia District Court.


 
 
Detail Detail
8 Raymond Road, PO Box 159, Deerfield, NH 03037
Phone: (603) 463-8811   Fax: (603) 463-2820