DRAFT MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE

DEERFIELD NH HERITAGE COMMISSION

The members of The Deerfield NH Heritage Commission (**DHC**) met at the George B. White building on July 25, 2023, at 3:00 PM Eastern Time.

There were present: Deborah Boisvert Member and Treasurer

Richard Boisvert Alternate Member

Andrew Merrill Member

Erroll Rhodes Member and Secretary

Absent Debra Murphy Chair

Dana van der Bijl Member James Deely Member Karen Leavitt Member

Carol Levesque Alternate Member Stephen Barry Select Board Liaison

Discussions occurred as follows.

- 1. A majority of the members of the DHC agreed to the holding of this meeting of the DHC, waiving prior notice. Mr. Merrill acted as Chair of the Meeting and Mr. Rhodes acted as Secretary of the meeting. The Chair stated that a quorum was present and that the purpose of the meeting was to discuss the agenda items previously circulated and any other business that might duly arise.
- 2. A motion was made (Mr. Boisvert), seconded (Mr. Rhodes) and unanimously approved to accept the minutes of the DHC meeting of July 18, 2023.
- 3. There was a discussion of the current proposal floated by the Select Board that town voting be moved from the Town Hall to the Deerfield Community School (DCS). It was noted that in the era of SB-2, voting has only been held at the DCS once, on the occasion of a lengthy warrant. A motion was made (Mrs. Boisvert), seconded (Mr. Boisvert) and unanimously approved to write to the DCS and Select boards to encourage the continued use of Town Hall to sustain its use for voting and to keep it as an important part of Deerfield's [heritage of] democracy.
- 4. It was noted that the next meeting of the DHC will be held on September 19, 2023.

Following a confirmation of there being no further business to be transacted at this Meeting it was moved (Mrs. Boisvert), seconded (Mr. Rhodes) and unanimously agreed to adjourn this meeting, and in witness thereof, these Minutes have been issued as of the date hereinabove written.

Andrew Merrill	Erroll Rhodes
Chairman of the Meeting	Secretary of the Meeting